Introduction

When I first started this blog in 2015, it was called “tmartinhasablog.wordpress.com” (and a couple of previous blogs wouldn’t have been deleted had I known I could change a site’s address before now), and I used it to critique movies and video games from a Catholic perspective, creating a collaborative game review site, Gaming with Faith, in the process. Then I decided to revamp all of the reviews here with a new style. Then I decided to move all of those reviews to the now-archived Catholic Wannabe Critic and use this site to talk about my Youtube channels (absurdlyawesome, T. Martin).

Could I write reviews well? I think so. Did I enjoy writing? Yes. But it was a hobby that felt increasingly empty when my thoughts on a game I spent 10-20 hours of my life on got met with crickets chirping sans Josh W. or Catholic Skywalker, especially when I’m disappointed by most games themselves. I even advertised directly to my narrow audience of Catholic gamers via forums and Facebook groups and still little-to-no feedback, even from my friends and family. I feel like I wasted most of the last couple of years doing something I wasn’t meant to do.

Where do I know I want to be? In the film industry. I want to be a writer and director; I’ve been practicing that since I was a kid, most recently through absurdlyawesome. But these recent years, I’ve spent more time critiquing art, not making art, and gotten little reward for it. Then again, I think a lot of it had to do with anxiety issues; watching, playing, and writing in between schooling kept my mind occupied with something other than the real world.

Essentially, I’d been trapped between two online personas: one that makes funny stop-motion videos based on a secular topic—Transformers—and another that tries to critique and appraise secular entertainment from a religious viewpoint. Honestly, it’s pretty scary trying to find middle ground between two vastly different audiences, especially since I’m making my biggest project yet mostly for my Youtube fans who could potentially be alienated by my beliefs. I’d rather just cater to the audience who wouldn’t be alienated.

And yet, being afraid to alienate those whose philosophies disagree with mine shows how much I still have to grow in my faith, and God is who I put first. As I come from a religious perspective, I don’t expect everyone to agree with my views, but I do want to explain why I view things how I view them through this blog. While I won’t write formal reviews here, I will reflect on movies, games, and broader topics in these arts, and even my own art.

My intent is not, however, to make explicitly Christian “art” since putting the message over the artistry could result in jaded garbage like God’s Not Dead. The greatest Christian art is the type that you wouldn’t realize is Christian, such as Lord of the Rings. Of course, I’m no Tolkien, nor do I think I’ll ever be; heck, the types of movies I’m currently best at making are silly comedy videos. But even a comedy can be rooted in much-needed truth, even if the audience cares for little more than the parts that make them laugh.

4 thoughts on “Introduction

  1. Hello TMartin,

    Welcome back to blogosphere. I hope you get to enjoy your blogging experience and artistic ventures.
    I run two blogs, a managed WordPress and a self-hosted one. On my self-hosted site I share a lot of helpful tips on writing and blogging. I’ll attach some links here and hope to see you sometime soon. http://theartofbeautifulexpressions.com/50-blog-post-ideas-and-activities-to-beat-the-bloggers-block/, http://theartofbeautifulexpressions.com/blogging-purpose/, http://theartofbeautifulexpressions.com/essential-writers-tips-punctuations/

    Regards,

    Jacqueline

    Like

  2. Keep doing what you’re doing, T. But if I may offer my two cents..and I think you realize this and even alluded to it..don’t try to cater to anyone. Christians and non-Christians alike. Do what brings you peace and brings you joy..and don’t be afraid to step on some toes in the process. Ive often found that doing what you like and enjoy rarely brings worldly reward, but it brings the reward of simply enjoying it and just improving your mood or what-have-you.
    But when it comes to movie reviews, if you want to make it in the industry, I think one also needs to broaden their scope of movies. Because there are a lot more kinds of REALLY good cinema that contain large nuggets of Truth but also might have grittier elements. Im thinking of war movies, for instance, that do have a lot of violence and language (that’s the nature of war..) like Thin Red Line for example…a masterpiece by most critic’s standards. But they are EXCELLENT movies despite that. I guess I mean to say to not shy away too much from movies that may confront some tough aspects of life, and that do present them in an honest fashion but don’t necessarily glorify those aspects. course, it’s hard to know what a movie will contain until you watch it..but from personal experience..i always avoided R Rated movies when I was younger because I heard there was a few swears or some sexuality, or what not, and I missed out on a lot of good movies until I grew older and watched them and asked myself “this is why I avoided these??”
    Basicially, just consider Plugged In Online reviews..they have to watch almost every major movie that comes out because it’s their job to give honest and frank reviews. Or Steven Graydonis of Decent Films. Anyway, you get the picture.

    Keep it up, don’t be discouraged, and also don’t forget there’s a very big world out there aside from Online! Go explore it.
    Peace.

    Like

Leave a Reply

