Life Rambles Ep. 3

My previous life rambles (“What the heck do I see in video games?” and “The young socially awkward filmmaker’s dilemma”) are semi-formal essays; this life ramble is an “I don’t know what my next post should be so I’ll write about all of the stuff” ramble.

While I haven’t seen many new movies this year (yet), I have seen a couple movies I wouldn’t have normally gone to see: Split (plot synopsis here) earlier this year, which I hated, and Gifted (plot synopsis here) last week, which I really enjoyed (I also saw the unconventional La La Land and Lion this year, but those were originally released last year). Granted, Gifted is heart-tugging sentimentality I’m as compelled to revisit as any movie I’ve seen this year (meaning not much), and I missed the scene that mainly caused Fr. Dennis to bump his rating of the film down to 1½ stars while I was in the bathroom, so I can’t confidently say how highly I’d recommend the movie. The 95% that I saw of the film, however, was a pleasant calm before the summer movie storm, especially for the chemistry between Chris Evans and the scene-stealing Mckenna Grace. One scene even movingly celebrates the joy that comes from the births of human lives.

I have yet to see the new Guardians of the Galaxy, and I’m hearing it’s not as good as the first one (which, as you probably know, I love). So, even though Guardians 3 will be a followup to Infinity War, that got me thinking: if every film trilogy has a weak link, which entry should it be? There’s a fitting joke in X-Men: Apocalypse where the teen mutants are discussing the Star Wars trilogy on their way out of Return of the Jedi, with Jean Grey capping the discussion with, “At least we can all agree that the third one is always the worst.” However, The Last Crusade and Return of the King (come on, out of all of that movie’s holes, none of those mutants were friends with a mutant who could see the future?) are as good as, if not better than, the firsts of their trilogies, and that’s because the middle chapters are the weak links. The original Star Wars, Dark Knight, and second X-Men trilogies disappoint in the end because their cappers can’t live up to each of their two predecessors’ greatness. So, the sequel not being as good as the first one gives the threequel more of a chance at ending the trilogy on a note as high as it started. …Either that, or making the trilogy progressively worse like Pirates of the Caribbean. Heck, for some trilogies, the second ones are greatness sandwiched between either mere competence (Sam Raimi’s Spider-Man trilogy) or mediocrity (the first X-Men trilogy).

Now, the biggest reason I haven’t been compelled to write much lately is because I’ve been busy figuring out ways to continue with stop-motion videos…and that’s all I can say about that for now. As for that Zelda trilogy, I’m now into Twilight Princess‘s second half, and I’d like to say how I’m feeling about this playthrough so far, but I’ll save it for the official post. As much as I’m enjoying this three-Zelda playthrough, I am a little eager (as well as cautious because Last of Us PTSD) to play something new-to-me afterwards.

Finally, I’m happy to rediscover Switchfoot for the first time in years (ah, belting “Dare You to Move” at/with youth ministry peers). I don’t have any musical artists I follow and whose albums I buy, but what I’ve heard of Switchfoot’s recent work has some of the best stuff I’ve heard from them, such as:

Leave a Reply

